Top Universities in Wales

There are 12 universities based in Wales with the main campus areas in the major cities including Cardiff, Swansea, Newport and Bangor that provides plenty of choices if you want to learn your subject in the Welsh part of the UK.

Some of these Welsh universities have also made it into the Times Higher Education Supplement Rankings which looks at all the universities in the world and provides rankings based on many criteria including student feedback.

Top Universities in Wales

From the Times Education Supplement published in October 2016 from the top 100 universities in the world, Wales had one of the main universities in the top 200 and their placings were as follows (with their worldwide ranking in brackets).

  • 1) University of Cardiff (World 182)
  • 2) Aberystwyth University (301-350)
  • 3) Bangor University (301-350)
  • 4) Swansea University (301-350)

To compare this with the rest of the UK, Oxford Uni came 4th and the University of Cambridge 3rd.

Complete A-Z Listing of Universities in Wales

Here's the definitive list of all the 12 campuses based in Wales in alphabetical order with their contact details if you require further information.

  • Aberystwyth University
    Old College, King Street, ABERYSTWYTH, SY23 2AX - tel: 01970 623111
  • Bangor University
    Bangor, BANGOR, LL57 2DG - tel: 01248 351151
  • Cardiff University
    Main Building, Park Place, CARDIFF, CF10 3AT - tel: 029 208 74000
  • University of Glamorgan
    Llantwit Road, PONTYPRIDD, CF37 1DL - tel: 01443 480480
  • Glyndwr University
    Plas Coch Campus, PP1, Mold Road, WREXHAM, LL11 2AW - tel: 01978 290666
  • Swansea University
    Singleton Park, SWANSEA, SA2 8PP - tel: 01792 205678
  • Swansea Metropolitan University
    Mount Pleasant, SWANSEA, SA1 6ED - tel: 01792 481000
  • Trinity University College
    CARMARTHEN, CARMARTHENSHIRE, SA31 3EP - tel: 01267 676767
  • University of Wales
    University Registry, King Edward VII Avenue, Cathays Park, CARDIFF, CF1 3NS - tel: 029 2038 2656
  • University of Wales Institute, Cardiff
    PO Box 377, Western Avenue, CARDIFF, CF5 2SG - tel: 029 2041 6070
  • University of Wales, Lampeter
    St David's Building, Lampeter, CEREDIGION, SA48 7ED - tel: 01570 424 704
  • University of Wales, Newport
    PO Box 179, Caerleon Campus, NEWPORT, NP18 3YG - tel: 01633 430 088

Overview of the University of Wales

University of WalesHere's a brief overview of the University of Wales.

The university was founded in 1893 so is quite modern when compared to many of the old established universities in the UK.

The university is made up of many colleges as follows: Aberystwyth University, Bangor University, Swansea University, Glyndwr University, University of Wales, Newport, University of Wales Institute, Cardiff, University of Wales, Lampeter, Swansea Metropolitan University and Trinity College, Carmarthen.

Overview of Cardiff University

Here's a brief overview of Cardiff University.
Cardiff University Map of Cardiff University

The University of Cardiff is was founded in 1883 when it received its royal charter and based in the Cathays Park area of Cardiff. It has 29 academic schools including:

  • Architecture
  • Biosciences
  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • City & Regional Planning
  • Computer Science
  • Cymraeg
  • Dentistry
  • Earth and Ocean Sciences
  • Engineering
  • English
  • Communication and Philosophy
  • European Studies
  • Healthcare Studies
  • History and Archaeology
  • Journalism
  • Media and Cultural Studies
  • Law
  • Lifelong Learning
  • Manufacturing Engineering Centre
  • Mathematics
  • Medicine
  • Music
  • Nursing and Midwifery Studies
  • Optometry and Vision Sciences
  • Pharmacy
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Postgraduate Medical and Dental Education
  • Psychology
  • Religious and Theological Studies
  • Social Sciences